Browsing Tags


Anvil Press and Orca Book Publishers win Vancouver and Victoria Book Awards

Carleigh Baker’s Bad Endings wins the City of Vancouver Book Award and Margriet Ruur’s Stepping Stones wins the Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize at the Victoria awards.

Finalists for 2017 Victoria Book Prize Announced

The Victoria Book Prize Society announced the books and authors shortlisted for the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize and the Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize.

Reading with Rolf Knight & Wade Davis

Two local authors are receiving BC literary honours: anthropologist Wade Davis is this year’s recipient of the George Ryga Award for Social Awareness, and historian Rolf Knight will receive the George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement...

Rolf Knight to receive 2017 George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award

Local historian Rolf Knight has been announced as the 2017 recipient of the George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award, the province’s most prestigious literary honour.

Chocolate Lily Awards picked by BC’s young readers

BC’s young readers’ choice award, the Chocolate Lily Award, was awarded in three categories on June 9

Bearskin Diary by Carol Daniels selected for First Nation Communities READ

The jury agreed that Bearskin Diary is an important book telling the story of one of thousands of Aboriginal children taken from their families by provincial governments during the “Sixties Scoop”.

Alex Marland’s Brand Command wins $50,000 Donner Prize

Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control by Alex Marland (UBC Press) was shortlisted on April 11, 2017 for the Donner Prize, which recognizes the best public policy book by...
Winners of the 2017 BC Book Prizes

Congratulations to 2017 BC Book Prizes winners

The seven winners of the 33rd annual BC Book Prizes were announced at a gala in Vancouver on April 29, 2017.

Brand Command shortlisted for Donner public policy book prize

The 2016/2017 shortlist for the Donner Prize, the award recognizing the best public policy book by a Canadian, was announced April 11, 2017 by Kenneth Whyte, Chair of the Donner Canadian Foundation. Among the...
Claudia Casper wins Philip K. Dick Award

The Mercy Journals wins Philip K. Dick Award

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the USA.